Circulation

Just another librarian blog

Job searching and networking – a new twist to an old concept

Posted by lindyjb on January 17, 2009

classified-ad

Though I’m in my early 30′s, I’m a wee bit too old, just missing the digital native generation… I can’t imagine living without the technology we have today, yet at the same time, I do have actual experience making it through the day without a cell phone, computer, Internet, GPS, what-have-you. (I didn’t get a cell phone until graduate school in early 2001!)

I came across a nice post by Dan Schawbel on Mashable.com: HOW TO: Build the Ultimate Social Media Resume. It really had me thinking… In my early days of job searching, I remember reading books and articles about how to handle the job search. I talked with advisers and parents and even the university’s Career Center about the proper way to go about finding a job. They all echoed the same thing – it’s who you know… In addition to having practical experience, networking is key.  I vividly remember being warned that one must definitely NOT depend on finding a job through the Internet. Stay away from those on-line job sites, they said.

That was then, I guess… Early 2000 is so long ago!

Back to Schawbel’s post: I think that using social networking is honestly something to consider these days. As popularity amongst social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc. continue to grow and gain followers, they should be taken seriously! When they first emerged, there was debate as them being meaningless drivel and time wasters. Over time, however, they have proven to have great professional networking potential. I mean, check out this post: She’s the Best Employee I’ve Never Met. Both articles point out that that networking is definitely still part of the job search — it’s just conceptually slightly different than what I learned it was long ago.

photo credit: You’re hired! from flickr user sssteve.o

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

