Circulation

Just another librarian blog

Screenjelly – quick and easy screencasting, no download, no fuss!

Posted by lindyjb on July 10, 2009

Picture 5Yesterday I read about ScreenJelly on TechCrunch and thought I’d try it out. I have been impressed with other screencasting tools such as Jing, ScreenCastle, ScreenCast-O-Matic, Webinaria, etc, but ScreenJelly is just so darn easy to use. It’s browser-based, so no need to download anything. You can record your voice as you record what’s going on your computer screen. ScreenJelly allows up to three minutes of recording, so you better be concise (which, in my opinion, is a good thing!) Like most other screen casting tools, I think it has great educational implications – you can easily record short tutorials and presentations, but ScreenJelly allows you to tweet it, email it and/or upload it to Facebook, StumbleUpon, etc.

I played around with it and found it really easy to use. I created a short video — please take it easy on me, I was just testing it out. My personal reaction to what ScreenJelly has to offer is positive. The only downsides to ScreenJelly is the three-minute limit and the fact that there is no option to embed it into webpages.

2 Responses to “Screenjelly – quick and easy screencasting, no download, no fuss!”

  1. Thank you for posting this. I like that it keeps a fast-and-dirty approach to screencasting.

    -ms

  2. faith johnson said

    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

